If only I lived in Dark Angel world

I haven’t done any coding today (at least in Python) but I have been thinking about some of the game elements. Way back when I first wanted to do something like this, which was probably about 10 years ago, one of the things that struck me was the slum layout in FF7. I’ve also just finished watching the pilot episode of Dark Angel, and it’s brought back my fondness for post-apocalyptic slums. An idea I had was to imagine that an entire continent had been urbanised, mainly by slums, and then to translate this into a game. Instead of randomly generated dungeons, we have randomly generated villages, forming a much larger city. They wouldn’t form any part of the story (well, some would) but the rest would be for general exploration. Features, locations, items, even the origin of sub-quests could be written into the random generation. My intent isn’t to have the whole world map like this, just one of the cities.

Whilst I like HP based battle systems, I dislike grinding. I hate grinding. What I would like to see is a battle system that combines the traditional methods with one that requires the player, and not just the character, to improve in order to defeat more challenging opponents. This is all.

Next on the code objectives: Solid map objects & Map objects that move

Leave a Reply

