Dialogue – so dull

I really need to figure some way of writing the in game conversations at a much faster rate than at present. I’ve just finished a conversation that has two backs and forths, and it took as much code to write the text and set it into the classes as the classes themselves. Not Good. Ideally I just want to write the text in a file with a key to indicate which text this answer should call. Python has the pickle module but that’s really more for persisting data than writing in a file and reading in. I have some idea about how to do this, but file I/O coding is such an annoyance. Pre-persisted data is so much nicer.

I’ve done this in C++ but not yet in Python; not sure I wanna get into it tonight. Maybe I’ll just warm Tessa up…

Leave a Reply

