"Stay on target"

Mood: Relieved

I’ve just solved a problem I’ve been having for a day or so. My previous versions of PyGame would run other applications with no problem, which is to say the graphics would appear nicely on the screen. However, with the new releases that I had installed none of the apps that previously worked, did. All I got was an error with the new Python Launcher. So, after a distracting search looking at C++ graphics libraries, I re-installed the latest packaged versions of PyGame and PyObjC from the PyGame site, and all works well. So, my versions are:

Python 2.5
PyGame 1.8
PyObjC 1.4
Mac OSX 10.4 Intel

I note that the default launcher has reverted to the previous version, and now works. I can now continue to work in Python. I admit that I am considerably more comfortable working with C++ for data analysis, but Python just feels a lot neater. I’ve also discovered a package called PySight for use with Mac’s built in iSight…. really have to reign in these over ambitious ideas.

Leave a Reply

